Research & Mentorship

Research and MentorshipMentorship is essential in the development of research scientists and plays a pivotal role in all aspects of the Bridge to the Doctorate Program. Mentors will be identified early and will provide support to scholars as they acquire knowledge, develop research skills, enhance communication skills and hone leadership skills. Mentor-Scholar Guidelines and Expectations have been written to provide guidance and structure to the strong mentoring component of the Bridge program.

As scholars progress through the Research Honors Track they will work alongside world-class research mentors from Winston-Salem State and Duke. Scholars will engage in the research process, have access to vast research resources, gain hands-on experience, collaborate with interdisciplinary teams, and cultivate the skills and knowledge necessary to advance their research proposals.

Meet the Mentors

In order to inspire interest in an array of possible areas of research, mentors will include biomedical and behavioral science researchers in nursing and related disciplines from Duke and WSSU. Mentors will provide:

  • Guidance in academics
  • Technical, ethical, and personal development
  • Reinforcement of the research process
  • Encouragement to succeed  

Primary Mentors

Deb Brandon
Associate Professor
Duke University School of Nursing
debra.brandon@duke.edu
Lolita Chappel-Aiken
Chair of Graduate Nursing Programs
Winston-Salem State University
chappelaikenlo@wssu.edu
Jennifer R. Dungan, PhD, RN
Assistant Professor
Duke University School of Nursing
jennifer.dungan@duke.edu
Eleanor S. McConnell, PhD, MSN, RN, GCNS, BC
Associate Professor
Duke University School of Nursing
eleanor.mcconnell@duke.edu
Devon Noonan, PhD, MPH, FNP-BC
Associate Professor
Duke University School of Nursing
devon.noonan@duke.edu
Elijah Onsomu
School of Health Sciences, Division of Nursing Assistant Professor
Winston-Salem State University
onsomue@wssu.edu
Daphne Sharpe
Assistant Professor
Winston-Salem State University
sharpeda@wssu.edu
Ryan J. Shaw, PhD, RN
Associate Professor
Duke University School of Nursing
ryan.shaw@duke.edu
Leslee Battle
Assistant Dean for Curriculum and Instruction
Winston-Salem State University
shepardl@wssu.edu
Leigh Ann Simmons, PhD, MFT
Associate Professor
Duke University School of Nursing
leighann.simmons@duke.edu
Sophia Smith
Associate Professor
Duke University School of Nursing
sophia.smith@duke.edu

Secondary Mentors

Azeez Aileru
Professor, Director Biomedical Research Infrastructure Center (BRIC)
Winston-Salem State University
ailerua@wssu.edu
Sherilynn Black
Office of Biomedical Graduate Diversity Director
Duke University
sherilynn.black@duke.edu
Linda Burton
James B. Duke Professor of Sociology
Duke University
linda.burton@duke.edu
Morris Clark
Associate Professor of Biochemistry School of Pharmacy, Division of Pharmacotherapy
Winston-Salem State University
clarkemj@wssu.edu
William Darity
Sanford School of Public Policy Professor, Chair of Research Network on Racial and Ethnic Inequality
Duke University
william.darity@duke.edu
Kafui Dzirasa
Division of Geriatric Psychiatry Assistant Professor, DIBS Faculty, DIBS Investigator
Duke University
kafui.dzirasa@duke.edu
Christopher Edwards
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Associate Professor
Duke University
christopher.edwards@duke.edu
Yolanda Edwards
School of Education and Human Performance Professor, Chair of Educational Leadership, Counseling and Professional Studies
Winston-Salem State University
edwardsyo@wssu.edu
Naomi Hallbyers
Department of Psychological Sciences Associate Professor, Psychological Sciences
Winston-Salem State University
hallna@wssu.edu
Jeffery Overholt
Associate Professor of Physiology Department of Life Sciences
Winston-Salem State University
overholtj@wssu.edu
Kris Roberson
Assistant Professor
Winston-Salem State University
robersonkm@wssu.edu
Charmaine Royal
Institute for Genome Sciences and Policy
Duke University
charmaine.royal@duke.edu
Dionne Sutton Roberts
School of Health Sciences, Division of Nursing Associate Professor
Winston-Salem State University
robertsd@wssu.edu
Edward Suarez
Division of Medical Psychology Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Duke University
edward.suarez@duke.edu
Keith Whitfield
Center for Bio behavioral and Social Aspects of Health Disparities Professor, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, DIBS Faculty
Duke University
keith.whitfield@duke.edu

PhD Peer Mentors

Dominique Bulgin
Duke University School of Nursing PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate
Cherie Conley
Duke University School of Nursing PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate
Gabrielle Harris
Duke University School of Nursing PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate
Lisa Mansfield
Duke University School of Nursing PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate
Jewel Scott
Duke University School of Nursing PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate
Jacqueline Vaughn
Duke University School of Nursing PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate