Research & Mentorship

Mentorship is essential in the development of research scientists and plays a pivotal role in all aspects of the Bridge to the Doctorate Program.  Mentors will be identified early and will provide support to scholars as they acquire knowledge, develop research skills, enhance communication skills and hone leadership skills.   Mentor-Scholar Guidelines and Expectations have been written to provide guidance and structure to the strong mentoring component of the Bridge program.

As scholars progress through the Research Honors Track they will work alongside world-class research mentors from Winston Salem State and Duke.   Scholars will engage in the research process, have access to vast research resources, gain hands-on experience, collaborate with interdisciplinary teams, and cultivate the skills and knowledge necessary to advance their research proposals.

 

Meet the Mentors

In order to inspire interest in an array of possible areas of research, mentors will include biomedical and behavioral science researchers in nursing and related disciplines from Duke and WSSU.  Mentors will provide:

  • Guidance in academics
  • Technical, ethical, and personal development
  • Reinforcement of the research process
  • Encouragement to succeed  

Primary Mentors

Donald (Chip) E. Bailey Jr., PhD, RN, FAAN
Duke University School of Nursing
Associate Professor
chip.bailey@duke.edu
Meet the Mentor

Debra H. Brandon, PhD, RN, CCNS, FAAN
Duke University School of Nursing
Associate Professor
debra.brandon@duke.edu
Meet the Mentor

Sharron L. Docherty, PhD, MScN, CPNP-AC/PC, RN
Duke University School of Nursing
Associate Professor
doche002@mc.duke.edu
Meet the Mentor

Janice Collins-McNeil, PhD, MSN, APRN, CPHN, FNP, BC
Winston Salem State University
Associate Professor, DNP Coordinator
mcneiljc@wssu.edu

 

Isaac M. Lipkus, PhD
Duke University School of Nursing
Professor
isaac.lipkus@duke.edu
Meet the Mentor

 

Elizabeth I. Merwin, PhD, RN, FAAN
Duke University School of Nursing
Executive Vice-Dean
Professor
elizabeth.merwin@duke.edu
Meet the Mentor

Elijah O. Onsomu, PhD, MPH, MS, CHES.
Winston Salem State University
School of Health Sciences, Division of Nursing
Assistant Professor
onsomue@wssu.edu
Meet the Mentor

Michael V. Relf, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, AACRN, CNE, FAAN
Duke University School of Nursing
Associate Professor
Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Education
michael.relf@duke.edu
Meet the Mentor

 

Dionne Sutton Roberts, PhD, FNP-C, CNE
Winston Salem State University
School of Health Sciences, Division of Nursing
Associate Professor
robertsd@wssu.edu
Meet the Mentor

Allison A. Vorderstrasse, DNSc, APRN, CNE
Duke University School of Nursing
Assistant Professor
allison.vorderstrasse@duke.edu
Meet the Mentor

 

Secondary Mentors

Azeez Aileru, PhD, FAHA
Winston Salem State University
Professor, Director
Biomedical Research Infrastructure Center (BRIC)
ailerua@wssu.edu

Sherilynn Black, PhD
Duke University
Office of Biomedical Graduate Diversity
Director
sherilynn.black@duke.edu

Linda Burton, PhD
Duke University
James B. Duke Professor of Sociology
linda.burton@duke.edu

 

Morris Clarke, PhD
Winston Salem State University
Associate Professor of Biochemistry
School of Pharmacy, Division of Pharmacotherapy
clarkemj@wssu.edu

William Darity, PhD
Duke University
Sanford School of Public Policy
Professor, Chair of Research Network on Racial and Ethnic Inequality
william.darity@duke.edu

Kafui Dzirasa, PhD
Duke University Division of Geriatric Psychiatry
Assistant Professor, DIBS Faculty, DIBS Investigator
kafui.dzirasa@duke.edu

 

Christopher Edwards, PhD
Duke University
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Associate Professor
christopher.edwards@duke.edu

 

Yolanda V Edwards, PhD, CRC
Winston Salem State University
School of Education and Human Performance
Professor, Chair of Educational Leadership, Counseling and Professional Studies
edwardsyo@wssu.edu

Naomi M. Hall-Byers, PhD, MPH
Winston Salem State University
Department of Psychological Sciences
Associate Professor, Psychological Sciences
hallna@wssu.edu

Jeffrey L. Overholt, PhD
Winston Salem State University
Associate Professor of Physiology
Department of Life Sciences
overholtj@wssu.edu

 

Charmaine Royal, PhD
Duke University
Institute for Genome Sciences and Policy
charmaine.royal@duke.edu

 

Edward Suarez, PhD
Duke University
Division of Medical Psychology
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
edward.suarez@duke.edu

 

Keith Whitfield, PhD
Duke University
Center for Bio behavioral and Social Aspects of Health Disparities
Professor, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, DIBS Faculty
keith.whitfield@duke.edu

 

PhD Peer Mentors

Joyell Arscott, RN, BSN, ACRN
Duke University School of Nursing
PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate
joyell.arscott@dm.duke.edu

Forgive Avorgbedor BSN, RN
Duke University School of Nursing
PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate
forgive.avorgbedor@dm.duke.edu

Rose Mary Xavier
Duke University School of Nursing
PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate

courtney.caiola@duke.edu

Deanna Befus
Duke University School of Nursing
PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate
deanna.befus@dm.duke.edu

Allison Lewinski, MPH BSN RN
Duke University School of Nursing
PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate
allison.lewinski@dm.duke.edu


Gabby Harris

Duke University School of Nursing
PhD Student
WSSU-Duke Nursing Bridge to the Doctorate
gabrielle.harris@dm.duke.edu